Our Curriculum 

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

At Daisies Child Care Ltd we provide fun, interesting and age-appropriate activities and resources which support children to learn and develop in the seven areas outlined by the Early Years Foundation Stage. 

We consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child in our care and use observations, written and photographic, to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience for each child. We aim to work in partnership with parents to promote the learning and development of all children in our care and ensure they are ready for school. Each child is assigned a key person, who helps to ensure that every child’s care is tailored to meet their individual needs, helps the child become familiar with the setting and builds a relationship with the parents.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and 
  • Expressive arts and design.

For more information on the Early Years Foundation Stage, visit www.foundationyears.org.uk